Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Recent News

Tue, 09/03/2019

(Columbia, SC) – South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today that his office will accept nominations of charitable organizations for this year’s Angel awards.

Every year…

Fri, 06/21/2019

These seminars will address state laws governing the duties and responsibilities of notaries.

(COLUMBIA, SC) - Secretary of State Mark Hammond is offering eight free regional…

Thu, 06/20/2019

The settlement will benefit legitimate cancer programs

(COLUMBIA, SC) - South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today that $2.5 million will be distributed to…

Fri, 03/22/2019

The charitable organization owes $10,000 in fines for delinquent registration, financial report

(COLUMBIA, SC) - Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today that his office…

Wed, 11/14/2018

(COLUMBIA, SC) – South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today the Angels of 2018. Ten Angels as well as one Honorary Angel were recognized at a press conference and honored with…

Tue, 10/30/2018

(COLUMBIA, SC) -  On Tuesday, October 23, 2018, the Secretary of State’s Office Online Business Entities Filing, Search and Document Retrieval System received a second place for the SC Information…

Tue, 10/23/2018

(COLUMBIA, SC) - Secretary of State Mark Hammond joins with state charities regulators across the country, the National Association of State Charities Officials (NASCO) and the Federal Trade…

Fri, 09/21/2018

(COLUMBIA, SC) – Secretary Hammond is alerting charitable donors of a phishing scam that was uncovered on September 20, 2018, that appears to come from the South Carolina Secretary of State and…

Mon, 09/17/2018

(COLUMBIA, SC) – As the Carolinas begin their recovery from Hurricane Florence, Secretary of State Mark Hammond encourages South Carolinians to stay vigilant when giving to those in need.  “Our…

Mon, 09/10/2018

(COLUMBIA, SC) – South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today that his office will accept nominations of charitable organizations for this year’s Angel Awards.

Every year…

Thu, 07/19/2018

The nationwide crackdown will combat fraudulent veterans-related charities.

(COLUMBIA, SC) - South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today that his office…

Mon, 06/04/2018

(COLUMBIA, SC) — Secretary of State Mark Hammond is offering six free regional notary public seminars this summer and fall for all South Carolina notaries and those interested in becoming a notary…