Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Recent News

Tue, 08/17/2021

(Columbia, SC) – South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today that his office will accept nominations of charitable organizations for this year’s Angel awards.

Every year…

Wed, 07/21/2021

(CHARLESTON) -- Today, South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced the award of a $39,024 grant to MUSC Hollings Cancer Center following a landmark enforcement action against four…

Tue, 06/22/2021

(Columbia, SC) — Secretary of State Mark Hammond is offering seven free regional notary public seminars this summer and fall for all South Carolina notaries and those interested in becoming a…

Thu, 06/03/2021

(COLUMBIA, SC) – On May 18, 2021, Governor Henry McMaster signed into law the South Carolina Electronic Notary Public Act. The Act allows a notary public to register as an electronic notary and…

Tue, 05/11/2021

South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond will be hosting a Nonprofit Raffles Virtual Seminar on Wednesday, May 12, 2021, from 10:30 AM – 11:30 AM (EST).  This seminar will cover the legal…

Tue, 05/04/2021

(Columbia, SC) – South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond is joining his National Association of…

Mon, 05/03/2021

(COLUMBIA) --In anticipation of Midlands Gives, Palmetto Giving Day, and other fundraising events being held this week, South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond is encouraging donors to…

Fri, 04/23/2021

Today South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond issued an updated advisory regarding continued scams offering to sell bogus documents and certified copies to businesses. 

“Our office…

Tue, 03/16/2021

Claim Deadline April 30, 2021

(Columbia, SC) - The Attorney General Alan Wilson and Secretary of State Mark Hammond, other state…

Fri, 03/12/2021

(COLUMBIA, SC) – South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond issued an advisory today warning of a scam selling bogus “certificates of status” to businesses. 

“This week our office…

Mon, 12/14/2020

COLUMBIA -- Secretary of State Mark Hammond convened the 2020 Electoral College Monday, December 14, 2020 at 11:00 AM in Columbia.  Unanimously casting their votes for Presidential candidate…

Mon, 10/19/2020

(COLUMBIA, SC) –South Carolina Secretary of State Mark Hammond announced today the release of his office’s…